15 Nigeria Senators defected from APC to PDP

A total of fifteen senators of the All
Progressives Congress (APC) have dumped
the party and defected to the opposition
Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).
In a letter to the President of the Senate,
signed by 14 senators, they indicated their
intention to leave the ruling APC for the
opposition PDP.
The senators who have so far defected are:
Rabui Musa Kwankwaso (Kano Central),
Barnabas Gemade (Benue North-West), Dino
Melaye (Kogi East), Isa Hamman Misau ,
Lanre Tajouso, Shaaba Lafiagi, Mohammed
Shittu and Ubali Shittu.
Others senators are: Rafui Ibrahim,
Suleiman Hunkuyi, Monsurat Sunmonu,
Ibrahim Danbaba, Usman Nafada and
Suleiman Nazif.
The letter reads thus:
“Dear Senate President after due
consultation with our constituents and
stakeholders in our constituencies, in
proper recognition of section 68(1G) of the
1999 Constitution as amended and with the
fact our party, the All Progressives Congress
(APC) is hereby emerging factions.
“We hereby inform the Senate that we the
undersigned are changing our political
affiliation from the All Progressives
Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic
Party (PDP).
“We thank you for your exemplary
Shortly after reading the letter, Saraki also
announced that Sen. Murtala Nyako has also
indicated his intention to leave the APC,
bringing the total number of defectors to
With this number of new senators in the
PDP, the party now holds the majority seats
in the upper legislative chamber.
PDP now has 58 senators, APC 48 senators,
APGA 1, while there are 2 vaccant seat left
by the two late senators: Ali Wakili and
Mustapha Bukar.
Speaking after the defection, Saraki who
expressed displeasure at the siege on his
residence and those of other lawmakers,
said that it was uncalled for.
“People have the freedom of association. I
have been sitting down here and more
than 15 senators have decamped or
defected to one party or the other. There
was no siege on their residence,” he said.

Post a Comment

Comment here

Previous Post Next Post